[Video] Seed Bead Fusion Book Review & Giveaway

Today, I am reviewing Seed Bead Fusion by Rachel Nelson-Smith. I have been wanting this book for awhile, and it showed up in my mailbox! Turns out Interweave Press sent it to Sister Diane, who knew it would be perfect for me and my blog. I won’t lie, it was hard not to keep it for myself! Giveaway details are below.

In addition to the stellar projects, here are 3 more reasons why Seed Bead Fusion should make it into your beadweaving library:

  • Rachel shares the story behind how she came up with each design.
  • The designs are shown in multiple colorways to help you choose your own palette.
  • The instructions are shown with graphics AND photos. The graphics show the thread paths, and the photos show what it should look like at each stage and exactly where the needle goes. I enjoy having both.

I also love that Jean Campbell is the editor, and that the beading basics stuff is in the back. That way you get straight to the good stuff. Of the 18 projects, there are 5 that are not beadweaving. Even if you’re not into working with wire, this book is totally worth it!

Giveaway Details:

To enter to win, leave a comment below and share your favorite beading experience with us. Be sure to fill out the email box when you comment so I can contact you. A winner will be chosen at random next Friday May 28, 2010. Good luck!

{ 34 comments… add one }
  • avatar ktycat May 21, 2010, 7:12 am

    Hi,
    this seems to be a g reat giveaway ! I love reading every of your articles to learn more about beading and get some inspiration.

  • avatar Rose aka Sparkle4soul May 21, 2010, 2:31 pm

    Wow, Mandi, how generous of you! I really enjoy beading and learning new things all the time. I guess my best experience so far is attending my very first bead show. If you have never been to one, you will be overwhelmed when you first walk in. There is so much to see; the colorful stacks of beads strands and the glitter of all the crystal and sterling silver is really a sight to behold! I’ve been to several since that first one, but that first experience is one I will never forget!!

    Bead happily!
    Rose

  • avatar Dian May 21, 2010, 2:38 pm

    I love Rachel Nelson-Smith’s work–her designs are innovative and colorful! I’m so glad that you remind us to keep checking back to your blog-I really enjoy your work and thoughts.

  • avatar georgia grisolia May 21, 2010, 2:46 pm

    Great video and this book looks terrific. Sure would like to win.
    My best beading experience was doing my pattern called Choo Choo which is a large loomed project. It came alive and is now framed and each time I see it the memories of riding on that train come flooding back.

  • avatar sgbold May 21, 2010, 3:50 pm

    I love beading because I love theway a completed project feels in my hand. The texture has me enamored.

  • avatar Ssorca19 May 21, 2010, 4:08 pm

    My favorite beading experience happens when you get in that zen kinda state, and your fingers take over and just do what they need to do, and the whole world melts away, and before you know it you’ve finished your project, and its wonderful. :)

  • avatar Leslee May 21, 2010, 4:12 pm

    Hi Mandi,
    I love to bead because I love seeing seed beads turn into something beautiful that I & others like to look at, wear and touch. Also, beading is a very social thing for my friends and I. We love to share ideas and teach each other new techniques. You are doing such a great job on this blog. Keep up the great work!

  • avatar Patti May 21, 2010, 4:23 pm

    My favorite beading experience was learning to crochet seed beed necklaces. I never thought I would be able to accomplish this task but finally did with practice. I then started to love seed beads at this time…love your blog…thanks

  • avatar Kathy Hunt May 21, 2010, 6:02 pm

    Thank you for the chance to get a great looking book. I too love the relaxing time I spend when beading, is it possible to make time stand still? I love beading bracelets.

  • avatar debra brasfield May 21, 2010, 6:14 pm

    Love the video, This book looks soooooooooooo very interesting.
    What a nice thing for you to do, giving it away to one of us.
    Thanks for a chance at such a nice gift.

  • avatar Kelly May 21, 2010, 7:30 pm

    Hi, Thanks for the great links in the emails! My favorite beading experience was helping my aunt -who has taken many many beading classes- with a pattern. At the time I had been very new to reading patterns and all of the different stitches! The video is great and sounds like a wonderful book.

  • avatar eddy medoza May 21, 2010, 7:39 pm

    hola! que bueno que tengas el libro de Rachel! el brazalete de la portada me gusta mucho, la Sra. Rachel hace cosas fantasticas que si no logramos realizar verlas amplia mi deseo de continuar indagando el tema del beadwork y realizar las que sea posible. que lo compartas me parece un gesto muy bondadoso de tu parte.
    a todas las que concursen suerte

  • avatar Ruby May 21, 2010, 7:45 pm

    I love everything glass. I don’t remember a time when I haven’t been fascinated by it. My love for seed beads starting with a trinket from Grandma. I tried on and off for many years to make the stitches work. Lots of time passes and I come across a beading 101 class which has now turned into a 5 year addiction that grows stronger every year as I graduate from kits, patterns, my own color choices and now to modifying designs and dabbling into my own designs.
    To bead is heaven, to fringe is divine!

  • avatar poornima verma May 21, 2010, 11:16 pm

    My love for seed beads goes way back to my childhood when my grandma gave me some to pass my time when I was visiting her during summer hols. Their glitter completely entranced me.My granny taught me to stitch them on my clothes making them unique and envy worthy. From there I drifted to jewellery making and I have never looked back since . With each piece I created , my love for seed beads grew as I feel they are one of the most versatile medium in jewellery making whether it is looming or weaving or netting etc…the list goes on. I would love to win this book as it would be one more priceless treasure in my collection.

  • avatar Suanough May 22, 2010, 5:26 am

    Hi Mandi,
    I love your video review… You really do a great job! This is one blog I look forward to reading…

    My favorite beading experience has been the enjoyment of learning new stitches and applying them to wonderful designs found in my beading books and magazines.
    Although I’ve been beading about 10 years I pretty much stayed with peyote stitch and loom weaving because I was afraid to take on some stitch that might be “too hard” for me and I hated the thought of not being clever enough and having to put something away unfinished that was just too difficult for me to figure out.
    Numerous surgeries the last few years kept me down but I had my books to wander through; beading in my mind while waiting to heal.
    I learned many new stitches and designs in my mind while waiting till I could really start beading again. If I could do the stitches in my mind I knew I could do them with my hands.
    When I was ready, so were my books. They helped me over the “fear” and showed me I can do anything I set my mind to…
    Thank you, books… New, used, paperback, hardbound, ugly and dog eared. You all have a place in my heart…

  • avatar Liga May 22, 2010, 6:32 am

    Hey! Thanks for the great opportunity! I really like your blog and would love to have this book since I’m just starting to learn the great world of beading.
    I got interested into beading when I found out about a relaxing evening projects of making paper beads. At the beginning I just made them for the fun of making, but then I realized that I could try to make them into something wearable or decorative. Since then I’ve started to look for some other beads and also some techniques to learn and I’ve already made a couple of necklaces, bracelets and earrings for myself.

  • avatar Lisa Sherwin May 22, 2010, 6:37 am

    I am a newbie to beadwork having made only two bracelets. But already I am hooked and have made plans to complete 8 pens by Christmas.

    I enjoy making things but before starting bead work , it was limited to cross stitch quilting and needlework. I am exciting to find a new creative outlet and love, love, love beading. Thank you for introducing me to a great art form.

  • avatar madebymegs May 22, 2010, 8:03 am

    I haven’t started beading yet, but I do desire to do so. I love the art of beading, the amazing colours and the texture of the beading as well. I just need to get my butt to the local bead store and by some already!!

  • avatar Gina Whitlock May 22, 2010, 8:13 am

    I fulfilled my civic duty and your necklace was the winner for me. I enjoy your e-mails.

  • avatar Shirley May 22, 2010, 8:14 am

    I need all the help I an get in learning how to bead.

  • avatar Vanessa May 22, 2010, 8:51 am

    Great review, Mandi. I’ve had my eye on this book. My favorite beading experience was working on my first big bead embroidery piece: Phoenix Reborn. http://www.kalibutterfly.com/gallery.html It started me on a whole new direction for my work!

  • avatar Carolyn Howell May 22, 2010, 9:31 am

    Mandi,

    Love you review. Sounds like a great book. Hope I win.

  • avatar KipperCat May 22, 2010, 11:13 am

    Hi Mandi,

    My favorite beading experience has to be the embellished herringbone bracelet I just made. I started with just a twisted tubular rope, and then decided to embellish just a little – well it turned into a lot, and I even did a bit of bead embroidery on it, which was something I never thought I wanted to do! It was so much fun having the design evolve as I worked on it.

    As for the book, I’m so glad you linked to the project kits page. I was not intrigued at all by the project on the cover, but I like most of the others.
    Whoever wins this book, I hope they enjoy it as much as I would!

  • avatar judy May 22, 2010, 12:12 pm

    great blog, thanks! the book sounds great, another winner. for me, it was teaching my mom & my daughter to bead, very rewarding.

  • avatar eddy medoza May 22, 2010, 4:22 pm

    Mandi una cosa mas, si no me gano el libro podrias por lo menos explicar algo de la pulsera de la portada, por favor! y de nuevo:
    suerte a todas, incluyendome

  • avatar Shenna May 23, 2010, 12:32 am

    Wow, this giveaway promises to be good! Great video!

  • avatar Beth Todd May 23, 2010, 6:44 am

    Mandi, great video book review!

    Wow, my favorite beading experience? All of my beading times are my favorite, hard to choose!

    Here’s one:
    When traveling I always try to visit the local bead stores, so I can bring home bead souvenirs of the trip!

    I have visited my daughter in several cities where she has lived over the years. She has not always been patient to allow me enough time to ‘shop’, –Have you ever entered the bead store full of wonderful sparkling things and then been told “ok, you have thirty minutes”? :/ — but in her defense she did include my bead shopping in her plans at least.

    Most of the times she has not had much interest in the beads, although she has admired them. The last visit though was a bit different, she helped me put colors together and helped me plan some projects! Months later after I was home, she told me that she had gone back to the bead store on her own! Yay!

    Thanks for having this great contest, Mandi.
    Happy beading,
    Beth

  • avatar Jo May 23, 2010, 8:00 am

    I have also been bead shopping while traveling, including searching the Plaka in Athens, Greece, for bead stores (yes I found some!).

    My favorite beading project was a necklace I made that I ended up giving my mom. I did three strands of different patterns, using the same three colors of beads, then braided them together to make the necklace. She loved it, and asked for matching earrings.

  • avatar Ruthann Penzenik May 24, 2010, 4:56 am

    Hi Mandi,
    How nice of you to give this book away.
    I would have to say that the bead retreats are my favorite time beading.
    It would be hard to pick which one, they are all awesome.
    Not only do you get to play with beads, but you share the time with
    other great people who love beads just as much as you do.

  • avatar Marilou May 24, 2010, 8:21 am

    Love the review. Keep up the good work! Voted for you, too!

    My best experience beading is not really related to my hands on work…it is about the wonderful women I have taught. There is nothing like seeing the work done where the student takes the idea to another level and makes it her own!

  • avatar Mary Ann May 24, 2010, 11:42 am

    I hope I win this great book!

  • avatar Kate May 25, 2010, 4:36 am

    I am new to this blogspot. I have been beading for about 2 years but am in need of some new inspiration.

    My favourite beading experience so far was making a knitted bracelet with bead embellishments. It was so difficult and frustrating as I was only a beginner at knitting as well as beading and the finished product is not perfect but I think it has a certain quirky character and charm.

    I absolutely adore the look of the purple cuff bracelet in this book and I think this is the one that I would make first if I won this book :)

  • avatar Cecilia Dawson October 16, 2010, 5:41 pm

    Hi,
    I have discovered your site/blog (not so hip to the terms sorry) and immediately signed up for the newsletter. I am Native American and my people are from Round Valley in Mendocino County (koncow) and Big Valley in Lake County (Pomo). I enjoy reading and viewing you site because I can translate the ideas into a Native American jewelry. I was looking for a method to threading beading needles that have the smallest eyes! I am still looking for a method so if you come up with an idea I would be gratful. Have a great bead week, Cecilia (cc)

    i

  • avatar Deb February 26, 2011, 9:46 pm

    Hi Mandy , Great video. Love your beeding so much.
    Always learning something new is so much fun.
    I really like the Bead site, it is so cool to see how many different things there are learn how to do.
    Love the discription of the book, I don’t know if I could give it away.
    You are so generous. I loved reading all the comments.

Leave a Comment